Why Green?!

I’ve hinted earlier at my favourite colour: green.

But, why? Well, here’s my “green” story. 😀

I didn’t grow up loving green, and calling it my favourite colour.  Actually, I can’t even remember what my favourite colour as a kid was…hum, weird.  Anyways, I didn’t wear green, all my accessories weren’t green etc.  So…Green came into my life with a “bang” or, quite literally a splash of paint.

Rewind my life back two and a half years:

It’s a few weeks before my birthday…and when Mom asked what I wanted, I suddenly had this brilliant idea. “For my birthday, I want a can of paint for my bedroom walls.”  I was somewhat ecstatic when she actually agreed.  The only stipulation was that we both had to agree on the colour.  I was just excited for the change… anything would be better than my currant bedroom wall colour (you know that babyish princess pink that every 6 year old LOVES? Hum yeah… let’s just say I haven’t been six for LONG time!)

Too make what could be a long story shorter… I’m sitting in my bedroom now, surrounded by “light” green walls and chocolate brown accents.  As one my friends stated when she had a sleepover, “I always wanted to sleep in a lime.” 🙂

Postcards I collected while in England...tacked up on my GREEN bedroom walls! 🙂

But you know what? I love it! Why? Because it’s SO different than the rest of our house, than the rest of my life, haha.  It’s so refreshing to come home…and to walk in and “be in another world” ;-).  It’s almost become a haven of sorts.

When I think of green, some of the first words that come to mind: Spring. Resurrection. Fresh. LIFE! England. Rain. Happy. Mint chocolate chip ice cream.  The list could go on and on… 😀

For myself, it has come to represent optimism, or rather the choice to be optimistic. I also heard somewhere that “green is the colour of hope”. Maybe it’s true.

When it’s muddy and yucky outside, it’s still bright and cheery in here. 🙂 However, even after that, green only stayed on my walls.  It’s only been in the last six or sevenish months that it’s made it into other parts of my life and in a few different shades…( I also adore Kelly green by the way.) Or maybe I’m just noticing it now.

So, here are a few of the “greens” that surround my every day life.

the flashlight on my keychain...
My iPod case and the case for my Kobo eReader
Curtains...
"my mouse" 🙂
my travel mug
I even had green butterflies put on my nails a couple weeks ago...
Yes, I am cool enough to use a green violin bow...just sayin'
My recent VV purchase. Airwalks in my size...and they're green! How cool is that, eh?

So that’s why I choose green to accent my blog, my facebook, twitter, and website. Green reminds me of life, and to choose to look on the bright side. And always to have hope!

Always, Aims

5 thoughts on “Why Green?!

Leave a Reply

