Sisters: The Same but Different

A little bit of a nostalgic post today. But that’s ok, right? 🙂

Meet Jane.

My best friend. My confidant. My (older) sister.

Last picture together: Feb, 21, 2012

Today I miss her; a lot! She’s been gone since February 22. So that means I’ve been missing her for 8 1/2 weeks or 71 days. By the time I see her (later this week!!!) it will be over 9 weeks.  With one brother being older than us, and 3 brothers coming after me…it’s been “us” for a long time. We’re under two years a part…and she’s pretty much a “live in” best friend. My “other half” you could say.

Sharing a soda at Whit's End in Colorado Springs, Co. (One of the last pictures taken before she left once before in 2010.)

How do you describe a sister relationship? I’ve been thinking for a long time… and it’s really tough.  At first glance, we’re pretty much “the same”. People mistake us for twins quite often.  We’re about the same height (and size…it’s like having two closets full of clothes! How cool is that?!) We both have dark brown hair (although hers is curly and mine is only wavy.) Her eyes are blue-ish though, and mine are brown.  I think a lot of relationships are like ours…I mean it must only be natural, after living together for over 20 years, to finish each others sentences, know what the other is probably thinking.  Be able to share a secret smile across the room knowing the same thought is in their mind. Right now, no one else in my life knows me as well as she does.

First picture after she came back last time... can't wait to take another "return picture!" (We're at Sparkling Hill Resort in this picture. She came to assist me in a shoot)

I miss midnight conversations, coffee-shop dates, epic sleep overs, laughing together….and the list could go on and on.

We’ve had lots of adventures together road trips to AB and visits Europe; twice…ETC. Too many to name… I hope there will be MANY more! 😀

Oxford, England
Auto Stadt car museum. The VW plant in Wolfsburg, Germany
This is what happens when you eat too much German food 😛

A couple years (or more!) ago…we tried to find a “sister relationship” that fit ours. After some discussion, we decided upon that of Jane and Elizabeth Bennet from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Since most people haven’t read the book, think of the movie.  The shared laughter, how both Jane and Lizzy look out for each other, and that understanding they share…that describes us.  Even when we do disagree at times, we always make up just as Jane and Lizzy do…because no sister relationship is perfect, even ours. 😉 Of course, she is Jane, and I, Lizzy. (This is also the reason her “blog name” is Jane 😉 ) Even as Jane and Lizzy’s character’s are very different.. so are we.  In fact, sometimes it feels like we’re complete opposites! She drinks tea, I drink coffee (usually!) If you want an event organized ask her (not me!) I take pictures, while she’s the writer. She snowboards while I snowblade, I use figure skates and she uses hockey skate etc.  But maybe our similarities outweigh our differences…or maybe we’ve learned to use our differences to compliment the other, which is probably another thing that happens after you’ve known each other as long as we have.

Walking in the garden at Jane Austen's house in Chawton, England. Jane walked here with her sister Cassandra.
Our true character coming out...

The picture below has come to represent our relationship.  At first glance, both pairs of feet are very similar… but if you look a little closer you’ll notice the differences. I’m wearing my jeans rolled up, her shoes are laced differently…my shoes have some extra stitching. We’re very similar…but VERY different. And, I think that’s the best way to be 😉 imagine if all of us were the same?! (Life would be SO boring!)

Well, thanks for letting me share my sister with you all today.  I count her and our relationship as one of my richest blessings…may I never take it…or her for granted!

Always, Aims…or for today; Lizzy 😉

15 thoughts on “Sisters: The Same but Different

  1. Love your post from today Amy 🙂 Well written! Sisters are so incredibly special. Can’t wait to have Amanda back either!

Leave a Reply

