30 Days in England: Day 4 (Winchester Cathedral)

Winchester Cathedral,
Winchester, England

One of the best parts about being in England was all the old buildings, most notably the castles and cathedrals… We just don’t have those down the street around here. πŸ™‚

Today’s post is specifically about the Winchester Cathedral…located in Winchester, England…which, if I remember correctly, is the longest Cathedral in Europe.

Out of my many memories of England…it’s this Cathedral that stands out. Why? Because as we walked in…I was suddenly enveloped in music. Β We happened to visit on a day when there was a symphony orchestra practicing for a concert. (That was epic, in the right sense of the word!)

Words are utterly inadequate when trying to describe the emotions I felt sitting there and listening. Β To hear the phrase “cathedrals have great acoustics” means nothing until you hear it for yourself. I sat in awe…just listening. I could feel the brass. I’ve never in my life heard pizzicato so distinct, so clearly as I did that day… The music carried…to every corner, into every heart. You couldn’t help but stop and listen.Β No, there isn’t a picture because music can’t be seen… But it’s a very special memory for me. πŸ˜€

Another cool thing about this cathedral is that it’s shaped like a cross. (Sorry I can’t supply you pictures from above πŸ˜‰ )

Inside was as epic as the outside…

Random nonessential fact: This is where the author, Jane Austin, is buried.

Front view

Anyways, these posts are meant to be “pretty” and not a history lesson. Β If you want to know more about the the city of Winchester and the Winchester Cathedral… Google it! πŸ˜‰ (It’s simply steeped in history…I couldn’t start to tell it all in a blog post…especially when other people have already done the work, and the info is so readily available! πŸ˜‰ )

Hope you’re having a lovely start to the week today!

Always, Aims

5 thoughts on “30 Days in England: Day 4 (Winchester Cathedral)

  1. Hello, Aims – most old church buildings (not just cathedrals) are built in the shape of a cross, with the main entrance being in the west wall.

    1. I totally didn’t know that! Thanks for sharing the info, Alan! πŸ™‚ It was just SO obvious at the Winchester Cathedral. Thanks for stopping by my blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

