Summer’s End…

I know summer doesn’t officially end for a couple more weeks…

However… somehow as soon as the calendar or various electronic devices read “September”… it feels like summer is over, as if it ends at 11:59pm, August 31. Just kidding – it’s not that bad! πŸ™‚ But I think you get the drift.

I had a fantastic last couple of weeks of summer. Here are a few of the memories caught on camera (wether by cell cam, ipod cam, or a friend’s cam.) It’s a blog post to remember some of my last days of summer 2012.

I had the opportunity to attend our 5th annual Youth Retreat. πŸ™‚ It was great to get away…to spend time with friends, time without technology, to be inspired anew by what was said in the sessions (this year’s theme being the Fruit of the Spirit.) Β My Sister organized the food, so that included a big “cook day”:

The ride up to the retreat was as great as the retreat itself – almost. πŸ˜‰ My bro took the hard top off his Jeep…how fun is that?! SO fun!

One of the activities was a photo scavenger hunt…where instead of finding random listed objects… your team creates a scene or answers a question. The picture below answered the question: How DID you all fit in there?

Ah, good times. πŸ˜€ Our group for 2012.

Before the youth retreat, I was able to snatch a quick coffee with Astrid who is now back in Germany. I hate good byes… so this is a “see you later” picture. Astrid, I wish you all the best…I’m looking forwardΒ enjoying coffee again sometime either here in Canada or, in Germany…guess this depends on whoever visits first! πŸ˜‰

Right from the Youth Retreat we headed off to Armstrong B.C., home of the IPE – Interior Provincial Exhibition… Ah, we always just call it the Armstrong Fair. πŸ˜€ I missed it last year so I was glad when it worked out to go this year…especially because we were able to get tickets to the Rodeo!
Some of my family and friends enjoying Horse Blankets (deep-fried…dough. Kind of like a fresh donut…but flat – with sugar on it.) Can’t go to the fair without eating a horse blanket! πŸ™‚ SO much YUMMM!

Our cousin from England/Switzerland dropped in for a couple days on his way through on an extended bus trip. πŸ™‚ It’s been a few years since we’ve seen him, I’m glad he arranged his trip with a stop at our place! So…we enjoyed an afternoon of paintball. πŸ™‚

Four of my bros and I with Matt, our cousin. (He’s the one wearing the yellow scarf.) πŸ™‚

The next day we hiked up Bear Creek. I didn’t take my camera because to see the waterfall you have to swim through a small canal…and I didn’t want to risk dunking my camera. (Note to self: learn how to swim with camera…?)

Anyways, Matt zip locked his iPod in a bag and brought it through…so here’s a picture to prove I swam through coldish (we guessed around 14 degrees C …around 55 F) water to see this waterfall. πŸ˜›

This is all for now… it feels like my summer finally started…and now it’s over! πŸ™‚ But that’s ok… Fall is a wonderful time of year! I’m excited for whatever September my hold! πŸ˜€

Always, Aims

Special thanks to Mel, Gene, Kim’s Camera, and Matt’s iPod, for helping make some of these pictures possible πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “Summer’s End…

Leave a Reply

