Of a little girl and sunshine

Kelowna_Photographer_Portrait_AimsPhotography.photos

 

My trip to Colorado in April inspired me in many ways. One of those was in using my flash more in my photography.  So earlier this week, I decided to just get out there and play with it.  Thankfully Boo was willing to be my model. 😉

Kelowna_Photographer_Portrait_AimsPhotography.photos-2

 

I enjoyed it 😉 Purposely, I chose to do it in the bright afternoon sun. Why? Because the conditions were NOT exactly ideal…and because they never are when we want them too.  I wanted to play with them in a less-than-ideal-situation partly because if  we always sit around waiting for the perfect picture taking situation to happen… we’d wouldn’t get many pictures taken!

(the book and pen were her choice – not mine! 😉 I was just glad she was letting me snap her picture 😉 ) Good chance to play with rim lighting.

 

Kelowna_Photographer_Portrait_AimsPhotography.photos-4

 

I think this is my favourite picture of the afternoon. It’s something about her expression, I can’t explain it. Almost as if there’s a hint of the woman she’s going to grow up into.  One of those “catching a moment” pictures

Kelowna_Photographer_Portrait_AimsPhotography.photos-3

 

Always, Aims

P.s. Note to self: If you’re planning to play with your flashes…it might not be the best idea to a get a five year old who doesn’t usually sit still anyways…to be your model. 😉

8 thoughts on “Of a little girl and sunshine

      1. I know this feeling I have the same here when I try to snap a picture of my Skogkatt.

      1. Flash is definitely a powerful tool. I love how it can change the mood and feel of a photo. I’ll be posting on FB some senior photos I did with flash. 🙂

Leave a Reply

