5 “thoughts” after 1 month of blogging

So it’s been exactly one month since I made my blog “official”.  Whew! It’s been a crazily awesome adventure so far! Here are a few things I’ve learned along the way…

1. It’s a lot of (worthwhile) work!

-I had no idea what to expect when I started blogging… but it’s more work than I first anticipated.  However, looking back…it’s totally that worthwhile kind of work.  I’ve seriously come to enjoy connecting with other cool people here in the blogging community.  The benefits outweigh the losses (can’t think of any losses  right now anyways…!)

2. Be consistent!

-Yeah, you’ve probably heard that one before. But it’s really true.  No one likes a “dead blog”… I’d rather follow consistent blogs too…which means I need to be consistent.  It’s more work that way…but a lot more fun too!

3. Don’t wait!

-Sometimes you just have to do it (post it!) even if it isn’t “perfect”.  I’m somewhat of a perfectionist…and I’m the type that waits around, works on it, until it is perfected.  With blogging you can’t always do that (especially when you have self-imposed deadlines as I do!)  Sometimes, I know my wording isn’t the best and that I could sit down and make it better…but you can only agonize and analyze for so long (I’m a photographer not a writer…I have to get over my “imperfect” word order. 😀 )

4. Inspiration…the ups and downs!

-Be inspired, and celebrate those moments! When you’re consistently blogging… you’re not always inspired (for me this comes in the writing department!) Well, I’m not always inspired…maybe you are? 🙂 My advice is just do it…even when you’re not inspired.  Blogging can be a little bit like work…but I’d say, do it even when you’re not “in the zone” rather than wait until you are! On the flip side though, take advantage of those moments when you are inspired.  Stop what you’re doing (if you can! 😉 ) and write that post, even if it won’t go public till later. You won’t regret it! Or, if you don’t have time to sit down and do it right away, write yourself a quick note…chance are (at least some of) the inspiration will come back later.

 5. Be Yourself!

-whatever your blog is about…be yourself.  No one else is you.  No one else has my odd writing style and no one else’s pictures are the same as mine.  No one likes a copy cat.  Don’t stress that your words and pictures aren’t as “hip” as that other popular blogger… chances are, people are going to like the real you rather than who you want to be. Besides…it’s SO much easier just to be who you really are meant to be. 🙂

 

Well, that’s a start. I wrote all this out for myself as much as my readers.  It’s good to sit down and analyze once in awhile.  To take a moment and sit down…and be thankful. 🙂

 

It’s been a fantastic month! Thanks to all my followers! I appreciate each one of you! I love connecting with people from all over the world and blogging makes it so much more enjoyable! 🙂 I always enjoy seeing the different countries that view my blog…as of today 37 different countries have viewed it and it’s had over 3,500 hits.  Also, a special thanks to my family and friends who have supported me in my blog venture… you know who you are! (You’re all SO awesome!) 😀 Comments etc. always make me smile… you’re always welcome to leave a little “hello” from wherever you may be!

Super excited for the future! 😀 Enjoy your Friday…I sure am!

Always, Aims

photo credit: Joanna Webber
4 thoughts on “5 “thoughts” after 1 month of blogging

Leave a Reply

